Ohio law allows for gun ownership and for open or concealed carry for many private citizens, however federal law and state law regulates the possession and use of weapons. There are many different kinds of criminal offenses involving firearms and other weapons. Carrying a concealed weapon occurs when a person knowingly carries a handgun or a deadly weapon concealed without a valid and current CCW license. If you do have a CCW license, there are still ways to carry the weapon illegally. For example, it is against the law to fail to inform a law enforcement officer of your concealed weapon and permit, to fail to keep your hands away from the firearm and in plain sight in the presence of a law officer, to touch the firearm in any manner unless the officer instructs you to, and to fail to comply with lawful orders from the officer. This offence can range from a misdemeanor to a fourth-degree felony. Depending on how you’re charged, it can include penalties ranging from a $150 fine to 18 months in prison and a $5,000 fine. Having weapons while under disability takes place when something restricts you from being able to legally possess or use weapons under state or federal law (it does not refer to a medical disability). This includes, under Ohio state law, being under indictment or convicted of a felony, domestic violence, drug offences, and certain violent misdemeanors, mental defect or incompetence, alcohol or drug dependence. Under federal law, disabilities include criminal convictions with a sentence of more than one year of imprisonment, being subject to a protective order, convictions of domestic violence, adjudication of mental defect or commitment to an institution, addiction to or the unlawful use of controlled substances, having a nonimmigrant visa, and dishonorable discharge from the U.S. Armed Forces. If you possess a firearm despite a state or federal disability, you can be charged with unlawful possession, a third-degree felony with up to 36 months in prison if convicted. Possessing criminal tools refers to possessing or having control of any device, substance, article, or instrument with the intention or purpose of using it to commit a criminal offense. This includes having any type of weapon with the intent of using it criminally. This offence can be a misdemeanor or a felony charge, depending on the type of criminal tools possessed. Possible penalties include up to 12 months in prison and a $2,500 fine. Using weapons while intoxicated is a crime under Ohio law because Ohio law prohibits people from carrying or using firearms while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, even if you have a license to carry a handgun, and can result in a first-degree misdemeanor charge. Penalties for a conviction can include a $1,000 fine and up to 180 days in jail. Have you or someone you know been convicted of a gun crime? You will need an attorney who has a proven record of success in this area of law to defend your case. Attorney Sarah Anjem will fight your charges to the end with her knowledge and passion. She and her team will minimize negative effects and consequences of your accusations. Call us today for a free consultation.